25-27 November 2015
National Centre for Synchrotron Science
Australia/Melbourne timezone

Macquarie University-Australian Synchrotron D-DIA apparatus

26 Nov 2015, 13:30
Exhibition space (National Centre for Synchrotron Science)

Exhibition space

National Centre for Synchrotron Science

Australian Synchrotron 800 Blackburn Road Clayton VIC 3168
Board: BT-03
Poster Beamlines, Instrumentation and Techniques Poster Session 1


Dr Jeremy Wykes (Macquarie University & Australian Synchrotron)


The recent development of the deformation-DIA (D-DIA) cubic-cell multi-anvil apparatus permits dynamic experiments investigating the rheological properties (measuring stress and strain) of materials at high pressures and temperatures, previously unattainable in deformation apparatus. A D-DIA apparatus is currently being commissioned on the XAS beamline at the Australian Synchrotron. The system consists of a four post frame with a 250-ton hydraulic cylinder pressurising the D-DIA module. Pressure control in the main- and differential rams is via an EPICS PID control loop where pressure is monitored by pressure transducers and varied by stepper-motor driven pressure generators. The sample is heated via a graphite resistance furnace. Temperature is monitored by a Pt-Rh or W-Re thermocouple and controlled via a Eurotherm PID controller. Positioning in the beam is achieved by mounting the press on an ADC X-Y-Z-rotation stage, the whole assembly weighing >3 tons. A particular constraint of of operating the D-DIA apparatus at the AS is that it must be completely removable from the XAS Hutch C end station. The system has been modularised to facilitate convenient movement. The MQ-AS D-DIA system is capable of exerting hydrostatic pressures of ~10 GPa and temperatures to ~1600 K. When commissioning is complete the apparatus will be capable of radiographic imaging and energy dispersive or angle dispersive XRD. Initial experiments will investigate metal-silicate migration and the rheology of mantle mineral assemblages.

Primary author

Dr Jeremy Wykes (Macquarie University & Australian Synchrotron)


Dr Peter Kappen (Australian Synchrotron) Dr Simon Clark (Macquarie University) Dr Tracy Rushmer (Macquarie University)

Presentation Materials

Your browser is out of date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now