25-27 November 2015
National Centre for Synchrotron Science
Australia/Melbourne timezone

Plenary Speakers

Brendan Kennedy is a solid state chemist and crystallographer whose scientific interests revolves around the “4-Ps”, perovskites, pyrochlores, phase transitions and powder diffraction.  The unique electronic and magnetic properties of metal oxides are often optimized by tuning these to near a structural instability and the majority of his work has focused on using diffraction and scattering methods to understand the nature of these instabilities. He has extensive experience in high resolution powder diffraction at both synchrotron and neutron sources, and played a leading role in the design of instruments at both the Australian Synchrotron and OPAL reactor.  He has served on numerous advisory committees both nationally and internationally. Abstract

In Soo Ko graduated Seoul National University in 1975, and served as a full time instructor at Korean Naval Academy in 1977-1980. He got his PhD in Physics (Plasma Physics) at University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA) in 1987. He joined the Pohang University of Science and Technology (POSTECH) as well as the Pohang Accelerator Laboratory (PAL) in March 1988 when POSTECH launched the Pohang Light Source project. He served the PAL Director from 2004 to 2007, and the Chair of Asian Committee for Future Accelerators (ACFA) from 2009-2010. When the PAL-XFEL project was launched in 2011, the Korean government appointed him to lead the project until its completion in 2015. He is also a professor in Physics at POSTECH. Abstract

Gwo-Huei Luo received his Masters and PhD degrees in Electrical Engineering from University of Wisconsin-Madison, USA, in 1987 and 1992. He has been involved in accelerator research and development over the last 23 years and served on international review committees for SSRF, SuperKEKB and the ILSF project. During his professional career, he has been dedicated to major upgrade projects, e.g. energy ramping, superconducting RF system and top-up injection, for the Taiwan Light Source, and to executing the system integration and construction for the low-emittance Taiwan Photon Source at NSRRC. He was appointed as Light Source Division Head and Co-project leader of Taiwan Photon Source in 2006. Since 2008, he has been Deputy Director of NSRRC, in charge of both synchrotron radiation accelerators. Abstract

Prof Jenny Martin is a Professor of Structural Biology and Drug Discovery at the University of Queensland. She trained as a pharmacist in Melbourne, undertook her DPhil at Oxford University and her postdoctoral research at Rockefeller University. Her research is devoted to understanding the structure and function of proteins in health and disease. She has held numerous national and international scientific and policy leadership roles. Currently she is Vice-President of the Asian Crystallography Association, Section Editor of Acta Crystallographica Section D and a founding member of the Australian Academy of Science “Science in Australia Gender Equity” Steering Committee. Prof Martin is a recent ARC Australian Laureate Fellow, a current NHMRC Research Fellow and the recipient of many honours including the ASBMB Roche Medal, the Queensland Smart Women Smart State Research Scientist Award, and the Women in Biotech Outstanding Biotechnology Achievement Award. She was one of three finalists in the 2015 NAB Women's Agenda Mentor of the Year Leadership Award. Abstract

Associate Professor Chris McNeill obtained his PhD in physics from the University of Newcastle, Australia in 2005 before moving to the Cavendish Laboratory initially as a research associate and then as an EPSRC Advanced Research Fellow. He joined the Department of Materials Science and Engineering at Monash University in 2011 as a Senior Lecturer and ARC Future Fellow. His research interests include the development and application of soft X-ray based techniques to unravel the relationship between film microstructure and device function. Abstract

Sakura Pascarelli received a Laurea in Physics at the University La Sapienza (Rome, Italy) and a PhD degree in Physics at the University Joseph Fourier (Grenoble, France).  She has been involved with synchrotron radiation instrumentation and research for the last 25 years. Her research today deals with studies on matter at extreme conditions of pressure, temperature and magnetic fields using principally X-ray Absorption Spectroscopy and X-ray Magnetic Linear and Circular Dichroism. She is presently Head of the Matter at Extremes Group within the Experiment Division of the ESRF and also scientist in charge of the x-ray absorption spectroscopy beamlines BM23 and ID24. Abstract


Your browser is out of date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now