25-27 November 2015
National Centre for Synchrotron Science
Australia/Melbourne timezone

Characterisation of Ion Tracks using Small Angle Scattering

27 Nov 2015, 14:15
Oliphant Auditorium ()

Oliphant Auditorium

Oral Advanced Materials Advanced Materials III


Dr Patrick Kluth (Australian National University)


Ion tracks are narrow trails of permanent damage generated along the paths of highly energetic heavy ions. These tracks are generally between 5-10 nm in diameter and can be tens of micrometers long. They have applications in many disciplines including materials science and engineering, nuclear physics, geochronology, archaeology, and interplanetary science. If generated in an accelerator, an ensemble of ion tracks comprises parallel, (almost) identical nano-sized objects with negligible overlap. Due to their high monodispersity, small angle scattering, albeit measuring typically ~10$^7$ ion tracks, can yield information about the individual track structure averaging out fluctuations on an atomic level. Parallel alignment and stochastic distribution of the tracks reduces the analysis to simple form-factor scattering, yet due to their high aspect the ‘small angle approximation’ is no longer valid. Over the last years we have demonstrated that SAS can resolve details of ion tracks in many materials inaccessible to other techniques [e.g. see 1-3]. This includes implementation of innovative capabilities at the Australian Synchrotron SAXS/WAXS beamline, including the use of diamond anvil cells in combination with in situ annealing to study ion track recovery of minerals under high pressure. More recently we developed a Monte-Carlo code to calculate scattering from complex track morphologies. This presentation will give an overview of our work on ion tracks highlighting the new capabilities we have developed. 1. Phys. Rev B **90** (2014) 224108 2. Phys. Rev. Lett. **101** (2008) 175503 3. Phys. Rev. Lett. **110** (2013) 245502
Keywords ion tracks, SAXS, radiation damage, minerals, high-pressure, materials science

Primary author

Dr Patrick Kluth (Australian National University)


Dr Adrian Hawley (Australian Synchrotron) Mrs Allina Nadzri (Australian National University (ANU)) Mrs Andrea Hadley (Australian National University) Daniel Schauries (ANU) Mr Max Proft (Australian National University) Dr Nigel Kirby (Australian Synchrotron) Mr Pablo Mota Santiago (Australian National University) Dr Scott Medling (Australian National University) Dr Stephen Mudie (Australian Synchrotron)

Presentation Materials

There are no materials yet.
Your browser is out of date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now