25-27 November 2015
National Centre for Synchrotron Science
Australia/Melbourne timezone

yaIBEX - Yet Another Integrated Beamline Environment for (X)-ray Crystallography

26 Nov 2015, 13:30
Exhibition space (National Centre for Synchrotron Science)

Exhibition space

National Centre for Synchrotron Science

Australian Synchrotron 800 Blackburn Road Clayton VIC 3168
Board: BT-21
Poster Beamlines, Instrumentation and Techniques Poster Session 1


Dr David Aragao (Australian Synchrotron)Dr Lenneke Jong (Australian Synchrotron)


The MX1 and MX2 beamlines at the Australian Synchrotron are single crystal diffraction beamlines, servicing the needs of protein and chemical crystallography communities. We have developed a web-based user interface for driving data collections, called YAIBEX (Yet Another Integrated Beamline Environment for Crystallography). This system is designed to replace the collect tab on the SSRL BluICE system which is written in TCL language and was forked at deployment from the original code making it difficult to take advantage of bug fixes and improvements from the upstream. Our system utilises Flask, a minimalist Python web application framework, chosen to leverage the existing Python-based infrastructure existing at the beamline, the language's widespread use in the scientific community including existing libraries, and better support from the local Controls and Scientific Computing groups. Improvements on the existing system include integration with custom beamline libraries, user portal integration for pre-filling information and an easy, tabular layout to view a history of data collections for the current session and remote access directly in the user internet browser. Current developments include interaction with the robotic sample changer to allow mounting samples autonomously.
Keywords crystallography gui beamline controls data acquisition

Primary author

Dr David Aragao (Australian Synchrotron)


Andreas Moll (Australian Synchrotron) Daniel Eriksson (Australian Synchrotron) Dr Jason Price (Australian Synchrotron) Dr Lenneke Jong (Australian Synchrotron) Nathan Mudie (Australian Synchrotron) Mr Robbie Clarken (Australian Synchrotron) Tom Caradoc-Davies (Australian Synchrotron.) Uli Felzmann (Australian Synchrotron)

Presentation Materials

There are no materials yet.
Your browser is out of date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now