25-27 November 2015
National Centre for Synchrotron Science
Australia/Melbourne timezone

MRT Dosimetry at the Australian Synchrotron using the X-Tream System

26 Nov 2015, 13:30
Exhibition space (National Centre for Synchrotron Science)

Exhibition space

National Centre for Synchrotron Science

Australian Synchrotron 800 Blackburn Road Clayton VIC 3168
Board: RR-03
Poster Radiotherapy and Radiobiology Poster Session 1


Mr Andrew Dipuglia (University of Wollongong)


Microbeam Radiation Therapy (MRT) uses synchrotron-generated X-rays to deliver a treatment dose at a very high dose rate via collimated planar, parallel array of microbeams. The synchrotron X-ray beam on the Imaging and Medical Beamline (IMBL) at the Australian Synchrotron (AS) is spatially fractionated by a tungsten carbide/kapton multislit collimator (MSC) giving beam dimensions of either 25 or 50µm FWHM microbeams with center-to-center spacing of 200µm. Using these beam dimensions the dose volume effect is evident and results in a tissue sparing effect. One consequence of this effect, is healthy tissue sparing whilst maintaining tumor control. Due to the high dose rate and complex structure of the radiation field, current traditional dosimeters are not optimal for dosimetry as they lack the required high spatial resolution, and/or real-time readout. The X-Tream dosimetry system, is a system based on a Silicon Strip Detector (SSD) with real-time readout and high spatial resolution, and has been developed at the Centre of Medical and Radiation Physics (CMRP). Preliminary dosimetric measurements at the AS, for both broad beam and microbeams, were investigated using the X-Tream system and Pinpoint ionization chamber for dose calibration. The Peak-to-Valley-Dose-Ratios (PVDRs), which are vital dosimetry parameters in the Quality Assurance (QA) in MRT, were acquired and evaluated at a variety of depths for both water and solid-water phantoms using a variety of field sizes using both microbeam dimensions.
Keywords X-Tream Dosimetry IMBL MRT PVDR SSD

Primary author

Mr Andrew Dipuglia (University of Wollongong)


Dr Anatoly Rosenfeld (Centre for Medical Radiation Physics) Dr Andrew Stevenson (Australian Synchrotron/ CSIRO) Dr Chris Hall (Australian Synchrotron) Daniel Hausermann Dr Iwan Cornelius (Imaging and Medical Beamline, Australian Synchrotron) Dr Marco Petasecca (Centre for Medical Radiation Physics) Dr Michael Lerch (Centre for Medical Radiation Physics) Ms Pauline Fournier (Centre for Medical Radiation Physics)

Presentation Materials

There are no materials yet.
Your browser is out of date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now