20-21 November 2014
National Centre for Synchrotron Science
Australia/Melbourne timezone
Save the date: User Meeting 2015 - 26-27 November

Chemical Speciation Imaging using Fast X-ray Fluorescence Microscopy: Update on capabilities and future directions

21 Nov 2014, 14:35
NCSS Seminar Room ()

NCSS Seminar Room

Oral Earth and Environment Earth and Environment


Dr David Paterson (Australian Synchrotron)


X-ray fluorescence microscopy (XFM) can be used for elemental and chemical microanalysis across many length scales and is a powerful tool for quantitatively mapping trace elements within whole biological specimens [1]. Advances in X-ray fluorescence detection schemes [2, 3] now enable acquisition at mega-pixel per hour rates which in turn allows collection of 3D information in realistic times. Chemical speciation imaging (CSI) results in an image stack with the third dimension containing a XANES spectra in each pixel [4]. Fitting of spectra with incident X‑ray beam energy tracking has been developed in GeoPIXE software using the Dynamic Analysis method [5, 6]. CSI has been demonstrated with moderate definition (10,000s of pixels/image) across a diverse range of applications [7, 8]. Recent studies have improved the efficiency and sensitivity of CSI to environmentally relevant concentrations. [1] D. Paterson et al., AIP Conference Proceedings 1365, 219 (2011). [2] D. P. Siddons et al., AIP Conference Proceedings 705, 953 (2004). [3] R. Kirkham et al., AIP Conference Proceedings 1234, 240 (2010). [4] B. E. Etschmann et al., American Mineralogist 95, 884 (2010). [5] C. G. Ryan, Int. J. of Imaging Systems and Tech. 11, 219 (2000). [6] C. G. Ryan et al., J. of Physics: Conf. Series 499, 012002 (2014). [7] P. M. Kopittke, et al., New Phytologist 201, 1251 (2014). [8] B. E. Etschmann et al., Environmental Chemistry, 11, 341 (2014).
Keywords or phrases (comma separated) Chemical Speciation Imaging, X-ray Fluorescence Microscopy

Primary author

Dr David Paterson (Australian Synchrotron)


Dr Barbara Etschmann (Monash University) Dr Chris Ryan (CSIRO) Daryl Howard (Australian Synchrotron) Prof. Enzo Lombi (University of South Australia) Dr Erica Donner (University of South Australia) Kathryn Spiers (Australian Synchrotron) Dr Martin de Jonge (Australian Synchrotron) Mr Robin Kirkham (CSIRO)

Presentation Materials

Your browser is out of date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now