20-21 November 2014
National Centre for Synchrotron Science
Australia/Melbourne timezone
Save the date: User Meeting 2015 - 26-27 November

The XFM beamline: Status, upgrades and directions, enabling user science across a range of disciplines

20 Nov 2014, 15:30
NCSS Seminar Room ()

NCSS Seminar Room

Oral Beamlines, Instrumentation and Techniques Beamline updates and discussion


Dr Martin de Jonge (Australian Synchrotron)


The X-Ray Fluorescence Microscopy beamline has hosted around 250 user groups since it started user operations in 2008, and sustains high levels of oversubscription. Armed with the world-leading Maia detector, and ongoing collaboration with CSIRO, almost 100,000 scans have been performed, representing an estimated 100 Gpixels of data and a stage transit of around 200 km with a positioning accuracy of 2 μm. In order to harness the power of the Maia detector, we have undertaken an ambitious series of upgrades. This presentation describes the beamline instrumentation with reference to applications, and recent upgrades to the table, scanning stages, tomography, large-area scanning, cryogenics, and configurable specimen mounting stages, as well as beamline ancillaries including equipment for specimen pre-alignment and cryogenic specimen preparation. It will then close with a short exploration of the future directions for the beamline’s evolution. This session will include an extended open discussion for XFM users.
Keywords or phrases (comma separated) X-ray fluorescence microscopy, XANES, tomography, upgrades, status

Primary author

Dr Martin de Jonge (Australian Synchrotron)


Adam Walsh (Australian Synchrotron) Andrew Starritt (Australian Synchrotron) Brad Mountford (Australian Synchrotron) Brian Jensen (Australian Synchrotron) Dr Chris Ryan (CSIRO) Daryl Howard (Australian Synchrotron) David Paterson (Australian Synchrotron) Gary Ruben (CSIRO) Jim Divitcos (Australian Synchrotron) Lou Corvetti (Australian Synchrotron) Luke Adamson (Australian Synchrotron) Mark Colclough (Australian Synchrotron) Michael Jones (Australian Synchrotron) Mr Nader Afshar (Controls Engineer) Noel Basten (Australian Synchrotron) Rick Le Guen (Australian Synchrotron) Robert Grubb (Australian Synchrotron) Robert Rostan (Australian Synchrotron) Mr Robin Kirkham (CSIRO) Dr Simon James (Australian Synchrotron) Terry Cornall (Australian Synchrotron)

Presentation Materials

There are no materials yet.
Your browser is out of date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now